Daidō Moriyama

Daidō Moriyama (born: 1938) is a Japanese photographer from Osaka. He is famous for catching the darker side of urban life and parts of the cities not so often seen. His photos have often showed the breakdown of the traditional values in post war Japan. Usually black and white photography – and often shot in odd angles.

Moryiama has been looking at the Japanese society with his camera in 50 years. ““It may look like I’m just pointing the camera at what’s in front of me. But I’m trying to photograph what people see, but don’t notice – something that’s mysterious and unknown in everyday life.” -“I’ve never been attracted to places that are very hygienic,” he says, almost apologetically. “I like a touch of squalor.” ( Telegraph Uk – 2012 )


See also Daidō Moriyama’s Official Site here